Phylum Chordata


  1. Unifying Characteristics
    1. Multicellular
    2. Eukaryotic
    3. Ingestive Heterotrophic
    4. Notochord or Vertebrae
  1. Chordata Classification

           Subphylum Urochordata. Tunicates, related forms.

Subphylum Cephalochordata. Lancelets.

Subphylum Vertebrata. Vertebrates.

Class Agnatha. Jawless vertebrates (lampreys, hagfishes).

Class Placodermi. Jawed, heavily armored fishes; extinct.

Class Chondrichthyes. Cartilaginous fishes (sharks, rays, skates, cimaeras).

Class Osteichthyes. Bony fishes.

Subclass Dipnoi. Lungfishes.

Subclass Crossopterygii. Coalecanths, related forms.

Subclass Actinopterygii. Ray-finned fishes.

Order Acipenseriformes. Sturgeons, paddlefishes.

Order Salmoniformes. Salmon, trout.

Order Atheriniformes. Killifishes, guppies.

Order Gasterosteiformes. Seahorses.

Order Perciformes. Perches, wrasses, barracudas, tunas, freshwater bass,


Order Lophiformes. Angler fishes.

Class Amphibia. Mostly tetrapods; embryo enclosed in amnion.

Order Caudata. Salamanders.

Order Anura. Frogs, toads.

Order Apoda. Apodans (caecilians).

Class Reptilia. Skin with scales, embryo enclosed in amnion.

Subclass Anapsida. Turtles, tortoises.

Subclass Lepidosaura. Sphenodon, lizards, snakes.

Subclass Archosaura. Dinosaurs (extinct), crocodiles, alligators.

Class Aves. Birds. (In more recent schemes, dinosaurs, crocodilians, and birds are often grouped in the same category.)

Order Struthionifomres. Ostriches.

Order Sphenisciformes. Penguins.

Order Procellariiformes. Albatrosses, petrels.

Order Ciconiiformes. Herons, bitterns, storks, flamingoes.

Order Anseriformes. Swans, geese, ducks.

Order Falconiformes. Eagles, hawks, vultures, falcons.

Order Galliformes. Ptarmigan, turkeys, domestic fowl.

Order Columbiformes. Pigeons, doves.

Order Strigifromes. Owls.

Order Apodiformes. Swifts, hummingbirds.

Order Passeriformes. Sparrows, jays, finches, crows, robins, starlings, wrens.

Class Mammalia. Skin with hair; young nourished by milk-secreting glands of adult.

Subclass Prototheria. Egg-laying mammals (duckbilled platypus, spiny anteaters).

Subclass Metatheria. Pouched mammals: marsupials (opossum, kangaroos, wombats).

Subclass Eutheria. Placental mammals.

Order Insectivora. Tree shrews, moles, hedgehogs.

Order Scandentia. Insectivorous tree shrews.

Order Chiroptera. Bats.

Order Primates.

Suborder Strepsirhini (prosimians). Lemurs, lorises.

Suborder Haplorhini (tarioids and anthropoids).

Infraorder Tarsiiformes. Tarsiers.

Infraorder Platyrrhini (New World monkeys).

Family Cebidae. Spider monkeys, howler monkeys, capuchin.

Infraorder Catarrhini (Old World monkeys and hominoids).

Superfamily Cercopithecoidea. Baboons, macaques, langurs.

Superfamily Hominoidea. Apes and humans.

Family Hylobatidae. Gibbon.

Family Pongidae. Chimpanzees, gorillas, orangutans.

Family Hominidiae. Existing and extinct human species (Homo) and australopiths.

Order Carnivora. Carnivores.

Suborder Feloidea. Cats, civets, mongooses, hyenas.

Suborder Canoidea. Dogs, weasels, skunks, otters, raccoons, pandas, bears.

Order Proboscidea. Elephant; mammoths (extinct).

Order Sirenia. Sea cows (manatees, dugongs).

Order Perissodactyla. Od-toed ungulates (horses, tapirs, rhinos).

Order Artiodactyla. Even-toed ungulates (camels, deer, bison, sheep, goats,

antelopes, giraffes).

Order Edentata. Anteaters, tree sloths, armadillos.

Order Tubulidentata. African aardvarks.

Order Cetacea. Whales, porpoises.

Order Rodentia. Most gnawing animals (squirrels, rats, mice, guinea pigs,